Two decades of rural leadership

Two decades of rural leadership

Australian Rural Leadership Foundation CEO Matt Linegar.

Australian Rural Leadership Foundation CEO Matt Linegar.


FROM a Moulamein rice farmer to a Top End crocodile industry entrepreneur, the 22nd Rural Leadership Program participants are a diverse bunch.


FROM a Moulamein rice farmer, to a Top End crocodile industry entrepreneur and an aged care worker in North Queensland, the leaders who make up the 22nd cohort of the Australian Rural Leadership Program (ARLP) are a diverse bunch.

And they "all share a fantastic passion for rural life in their region", said Matt Linnegar, chief executive of the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation.

The ARLP aims to produce a network of informed, capable and ethical leaders who are able to work collaboratively to advance the interests of rural Australia.

"The organisation has a long history in helping Australians from all corners of our country, in all walks of life – farmers, Aboriginal and Torres Strait islanders, health professionals, educators and myriad others – to develop their leadership capacity," Mr Linnegar said.

"In doing so we now have a network of almost 900 alumni working individually and collectively to help realise greater possibilities for this country."

The ARLP is the Foundation’s flagship program, and it has been developing leaders for the future of rural and regional Australia for more than 20 years. Thirty leaders representing diverse industries, sectors and communities have successfully completed a competitive national selection process.

The group will commence the Leadership Program in May 2015 with an experiential session in the Kimberley. Five sessions will follow over 17 months, including immersion in Canberra’s political scene, and an eye-opening visit to Indonesia.

Course 22 will be the fifth cohort of ARLP participants eligible to undertake a graduate certificate in Australian Rural Leadership from James Cook University, in concert with the ARLP.

Mr Linnegar said the program continues to stand out in the leadership development landscape.

“I am in the unique position of leading an organisation that played such a crucial role in my own leadership,” he said.

“The experience offered by the ARLP will be life-changing for these participants. I'm sure that this group, like all ARLP graduates, will go on to be real change agents in their organisations, industries and communities right across Australia.”

ARLP participants receive scholarships from a wide range of rural and related industry organisations, philanthropic donors, research bodies, the private sector and governments, and the Foundation welcomes two new sponsors to the program this year: Prime Super and the Northern Territory government.

Applications for ARLP Course 23 open from April 1, 2015. Closer to the date, visit the ARLF website for more information.

Course 22 participants and scholarship sponsors:

Sam Archer, Gundagai, NSW, Meat and Livestock Australia

Darren Arney, Nairne, SA, Grains Research and Development Corporation

Tammy Atkins, Milawa, Vic, William Buckland Foundation

David Bailey, Dalby, Qld, Australian Lot Feeders Association

Joanna Baker, Stanmore, NSW, Thyne Reid Foundation

Sean Boland, Moree, NSW, Cotton Australia Limited and Cotton Research & Development Corporation

Rhys Collins, North Lakes, Qld, Australian Pork Limited

Scott Davis, Cairns, Qld, James Cook University

Sandra Glaister, Townsville, Qld, Prime Super

Jamie Iker, Emerald. Qld, Auscott Limited, Cotton Research and Development Corporation

Mikaela Jade, Red Hill, ACT, Department of Agriculture

Jacinta Kelly, Kensington, WA, Co-operative Bulk Handling Ltd

Gary Larkins, Mawson, ACT, Department of Health

Tim Lester, Dalton, NSW, Fisheries Research and Development Corporation

James Lord, Cradoc, Tas, Australian Meat Processor Corporation

Zoe Malone, Fannie Bay, NT, NT Department of Primary Industry and Fisheries

Katie Mason, Kojonup, WA, Fairfax Media

Peter McCrabb, Booroorban, NSW, Australian Wool Innovation

Krysteen McElroy, Padthaway, SA, Department of Agriculture

Denise McLellan, Horsham, Vic, Grains Research and Development Corporation

Jeremy Morton, Moulamein, NSW, NSW Ricegrowers’ Association

Dwane O’Brien, Belmont, Vic, Victorian Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning

Travis Power, Warramanga, ACT, Department of Agriculture

Lowri Pryce, Helensburgh, NSW, Fisheries Research and Development Corporation

Michael Rosier, Moorabbin, Vic, Victorian Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning

Regina Turner, Thursday Island, Qld, Torres Strait Regional Authority

Jordan Villaruz, Tully, Qld, Department of Agriculture

Giovanna Webb, Leanyer, NT, Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation

Jane Worner, Young, NSW, Woolworths Limited

Jennifer Wressell, East Geelong, Vic, Department of Health


From the front page

Sponsored by