Hegarty set to take up Cattle Council reins

Hegarty set to take up cattle council reins

Beef News
RENEWAL: Cattle Council of Australia president Howard Smith, CCA chief executive officer Margot Andrae, and CCA vice president Tony Hegarty.

RENEWAL: Cattle Council of Australia president Howard Smith, CCA chief executive officer Margot Andrae, and CCA vice president Tony Hegarty.


Howard Smith to hand over CCA top job this month.


HUNTER, NSW, cattle producer Tony Hegarty is shaping up as the likely new president of Cattle Council of Australia, set to replace incumbent Queenslander Howard Smith who has completed his four-year term.

Mr Hegarty, who runs the 1000 hectare property Cassilis property Belvedere with his wife Jane, is currently the vice president of Cattle Council.

The presidency will be decided at the peak industry council’s annual general meeting in Canberra on November 20.

Members will also welcome a number of new representatives to the Cattle Council board to fill the vacancies created by retiring directors Peter Hall (AgForce), Faye Tuchtan (Victorian Farmers’ Federation) and Marc Greening (independent director - southern).

Cattle Council chief executive officer Margo Andrae said members had been asked to endorse board candidates ahead the AGM on Tuesday, November 20.

“Based on the nominations we’ve received for the six board positions that are up for election, we’re set to welcome three new directors at the AGM,” Ms Andrae said.

Two new Victorian representatives have been nominated, with Olivia Lawson seeking endorsement as independent director (southern) and Peter Starr as the VFF’s new board representative.

AgForce has nominated Lloyd Hick as its delegate to the board, while fellow Queenslander David Hill was unopposed as independent director (northern). incumbent directors Geoff Pearson (WA Farmers) and Amanda Giles (Livestock SA) have also been nominated to remain on as directors.

They will join Cattle Council vice president Tony Hegarty (NSW Farmers), Markus Rathsmann (NT Cattlemen’s Association), Brett Hall (Tasmanian Farmers & Graziers Association) and David Lovelock (Pastoralists and Graziers Association of WA), who are half-way through their current two-year terms.

“Renewal is about bringing on new leaders who offer a diverse range of experiences and qualifications, who are capable of stepping-up to represent producers and to ensure smooth succession and continuity our advocacy agenda,” Ms Andrae said.

Mr Smith, from Rolleston in Central Queensland, was first elected president in 2014.

“Howard’s passion and leadership has strengthened Cattle Council’s position for the future,” Ms Andrae said.

“And the producers who have put their hand up to join the Board will help further strengthen Cattle Council as a robust and effective voice for all Australian beef cattle producers.

“We encourage members to get involved in the AGM process because that grassroots participation drives Cattle Council’s effective advocacy and makes it an integral part of Australia’s beef industry.

"That's why we remain committed to the development of a direct election model, which will be presented in draft at the 2018 AGM, so that representation from the ground-up is even stronger. We want to build on our existing strengths and ensure we have the best structures in place in the years to come to unite the industry and speak with one voice."


From the front page

Sponsored by